Sue Clark’s letter re Dr. Evan’s letter

Sue Clark writes,

Dear Editor:

I read the article in yesterday’s Globe and Mail by Dr. Michael Evans praising the use of electroshock (ECT).

I have a difference of opinion for good reason. I had electroshock in 1973 at the age of 17 years old against my will at the Brockville Psychiatric Hospital in Ontario. On my 5th ECT, my heart stopped. As a result of having had ECT, I suffer from permanent memory loss and have difficulty learning anything new.

Dr. Peter R. Breggin, a psychiatrist from the USA wrote an article recently entitled “Disturbing News for Patients and Shock Doctors Alike”. In his article he states “Something most remarkable and unexpected has occurred in the field of psychiatry. Lead by a lifelong defender and promoter of shock treatment, Harold Sackeim, a team of investigators has recently published a follow up study of 347 patients given the currently available methods of electroshock, including the supposedly most benign forms–and confirmed that electroshock causes permanent brain damage and dysfunction.”

There have many studies and reports proving ECT always causes brain damage. It is time to ban ECT the atrocity that it is. ECT is a crime against humanity. It is unethical and barbaric. No one should have to go through what I did.

Sue Clark-Wittenberg
Executive Director
The Wittenberg Center to End Electroshock

